Profile Picture


5:56 AM (GMT-05:00)



Sobre mí

Hi, I'm Joe!! I'm a 30-year-old native speaker from Manchester, England, currently based in Mexico. I have over 2 years experience as an English teacher, having worked for a variety of different organisations in South Korea, Vietnam and the U.K. My current hometown is Oaxaca, Mexico, where I am studying Spanish.

I'm a firm believer in the "communicative" method, but I also understand and can explain English grammatical concepts. As a student of languages, I have gained invaluable insights into the process of language acquisition and the difficulties students face, and I have transferred these insights to my work as a language instructor. I feel I can identify a lot more with my students as a result of my studies and have found I have become a far more patient and effective teacher.

In my personal life, I'm a keen reader and amateur historian. Other interests include music, martial arts and of course, languages. I've travelled a fair bit, Asia and Europe mainly, but see my future here in Latin America, where the people I have met have made me feel very much at home. I absolutely love waking up each day in the knowledge that whatever happens, I will have opportunities to improve my Spanish and continue discovering the language.

Clases particulares


Experiencia como profesor

Principiante avanzado
Intermedio avanzado
Avanzado superior
British English
Children (4-11)
Teenagers (12-18)
Adults (18+)
Learning Materials
Lesson Plans
Proficiency Assessment
Reading Exercises
Writing Exercises
Accent Reduction
Business English
Colloquial English
Grammar Development
Interview Preparation
Listening Comprehension
Reading Comprehension
Speaking Practice
Vocabulary Development
Writing Correction

Curriculum Vitae


2009 - 2012
BA (HONS) in History
Manchester Metropolitan University - Manchester, U.K.
A 3-year bachelor of arts programme, specialising on modern American history in my final year. My thesis dealt with the subject of masculinity in American political culture and national identity.
2004 - 2006
Diploma in Music Practice
City College Manchester - Manchester, U.K.
2-year long course in Music.

Experiencia profesional

Freelance translator
Self-employed - Various locations!!
I work from home doing transations on a freelance basis.
2016 - 2017
Translation and content writing intern
Mayan Families - Panajachel, Guatemala
2-month long internship at a Guatemalan-based NGO
2015 - 2016
Freelance English teacher
Self-employed - Hanoi, Vietnam
I spent 19 months based in Hanoi working with a variety of educational institutions on a freelance basis.
2014 - 2014
English teacher
Berlitz - London, U.K.
English teacher ot residential summer programme.
2014 - 2014
Teaching Assistant
Richmond Primary School - Oldham, U.K.
Teaching assistant and specialist language instructor. Contracted on a short-term basis to assist during a time of crisis at the school.
2012 - 2013
English teacher
Creative English - Seoul, South Korea
My first teaching job! I worked here for a year, giving extra-curricular classes to children from ages 4-16.


2014 - 2014
Advanced Spanish
The University of Havana - Havana, Cuba
4-long Spanish course
2012 - 2012
TEFL England teacher training certficate.
TEFL England - Manchester, U.K.
A 150-hour teacher training course, which explained theories of teaching methodology, their practical applications and English grammar.

Clases particulares